Stained Glass Window from the library Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania
Government Documents @
Harvey A. Andruss Library
Stained Glass Window from the library
Text Only

Databases and Search Engines

General

Google Uncle Sam
Search government websites using the power of Google
USA.gov
Official homepage of the United States government, easy access to lots of government information.
GPO Access
Full-text government information from the Government Printing Office
Catalog of Government Publications
Database of government publications released to the public since 1976. Some links to full-text documents.

Library

These databases are available from the main library website; click on Catalog (PILOT) or Databases (A-Z)

PILOT
Search to see what government documents are held by the library
AGRICOLA
Indexes more than 2.5 million records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, including journal articles, books, theses, patents, and technical reports; free version available from the National Library of Agriculture
CQ Researcher
Reports on social issues, environment, health, education, and science and technology written by journalists and featuring comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue
ERIC
Provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals; free version available from the Department of Education
GPO
Contains citations for U.S. government publications. Check the library catalog and/or at the Reference Desk for library holdings; free version available from GPO Access
LEXIS-NEXIS Legal Research
Legal newspapers, magazines, newsletters, and reviews; case Law; codes & Regulations; European Union law; tax Law; patents; lawyers, law firms, & law schools
MEDLINE
Provides abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals indexed by the National Library of Medicine; search it online at PubMed from the National Library of Medicine
STAT-USA
Business, trade and economic information; available only on the second floor of the library;see a documents or reference librarian for the password
USA Trade
US import and export data; available only on the second floor of the library; see a documents or reference librarian for the password

There are many more databases available from the US government. Check the Statistics page for statistical databases on a given subject, or ask a documents librarian.